Aztec Camera - Backwards And ForwardsAztec Camera - Backwards And Forwards Joe Hisaishi - Piano storiesJoe Hisaishi - Piano stories Tanger  - Le Petit SoldatTanger - Le Petit Soldat The Beach Boys - Blue Birds Over The Mountain / Never Learn Not To LoveThe Beach Boys - Blue Birds Over The Mountain / Never Learn Not To Love Fats Waller - Ain't Misbehavin': The New Fats Waller Musical ShowFats Waller - Ain't Misbehavin': The New Fats Waller Musical Show Babyface - For The Cool In YouBabyface - For The Cool In You Sin Assassins / Zoe Brothers / Soul Tempo - Rev Run PresentsSin Assassins / Zoe Brothers / Soul Tempo - Rev Run Presents Rusalka - Mother Insect FleshRusalka - Mother Insect Flesh
Mossy Davidson - Northwind Calling
Mossy Davidson

Northwind Calling

MP3 RAR album size:
1368 mb
FLAC RAR album size:
1635 mb
Label: North Woods ‎– MD-101
Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Date of released: 1977
Category: Folk, World, & Country
4.4 / 5


A1 So Long!! 3:40
A2 Fox Sparrow 2:18
A3 Sea Man 2:45
A4 Day Dream Land 2:28
A5 Northwind Calling 3:35
B1 Coyote's Cry 2:30
B2 Going To Blow 3:52
B3 What Is That Light 3:37
B4 Eagle, Goodbye! 2:09
B5 Little Brown Violins 3:14
C1 Cloudy Day 4:00
C2 It's Harder To Be Left Behind 2:44
C3 Alone Too Long 3:09
C4 Where Does This River Flow 3:46
C5 Flag Of Green Lands Flying 3:31
D1 Rainfall 2:11
D2 Mother's Song 3:05
D3 Changes, Changes 2:40
D4 Birds Of Passage 3:35
D5 Come Back, Come Back 3:56

Companies, etc.

  • Published By – Holden Hamilton Roberts Music
  • Recorded At – Holden, Hamilton And Roberts
  • Recorded At – Arctic Studios


  • Acoustic Guitar – Mossy Davidson
  • Backing Vocals – Fay Barber (tracks: A3, C1)
  • Banjo – Scott Gavin
  • Engineer – Bob Holden
  • Fiddle – Waynne Shields
  • Harmonica – Bill Bassett
  • Piano – Waynne Shields
  • Producer – Mairiis Davidson*
  • Steel Guitar – Bill Bassett
  • Twelve-String Guitar – Bill Bassett
  • Vocals – Mossy Davidson


Alaskan folk singer apparently related to pop singer Jewel!

From the liner notes:

"I first hear Mossy's songs as she sang her children to sleep in their mountain log cabin. I was enchanted.

Mossy's haunting melodies carried me away to the shores and canyons that are the source of her music. I could hear the sea birds calling, the eagle scream, the salmon swim and the coyote's cry. I knew I had to hear them again and I wanted others to hear them too.

When she sang "Come Back, Come Back" at the public hearings on the future of Alaska's lands, Congressman Morris Udall was moved to compare her favorably to John Denver and to say hers was one of the most eloquent statements about Alaska he had heard.

For me, Mossy is incomparable. She is herself, unique — like the songs on this album, which have a special way of touching people. These songs are true Alaskan folk music, a very personal expression of the joys and dreams, beauty and solitude of living on the last frontier — songs of love for the North Country, of pioneers and fishermen, wild places and changing times.

Mossy's songs make we want to sing. They fill me with tears and goose bumps and make me very, very happy. Thank you, Mossy, for recording them for us all to share. - Lanie Fleischer"

Mossy Davidson - Northwind Calling